New Owner Operator needs guidance

Discussion in 'Ask An Owner Operator' started by Nakobi, Mar 21, 2023.

1. Nakobi

Nakobi Bobtail Member

Mar 21, 2023
    Hello guys, I am totally new to the trucking world, yes I have a lot of knowledge from reading different materials/trainings here and there but never the practical thing. I just opened my company name, got my DOT,MC & BOC-3, about to financial a 2018 freightliner 389k miles hopefully it goes through, I will probably lease a trailer. I already have a driver with 2 years experience, then I have a dispatcher as well. Please kindly advise and guide me on stuffs to take note of or to avoid to be a successful owner operator. Thank you

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Diesel Dave

Diesel Dave Last Few of the OUTLAWS

Jan 20, 2010
    Hesperia, Ca.
    What are you planning to haul ? What commodities is your “Dispatcher” going to set you up with ? Are you going to pay your driver 1099 or W-2 ? Seems you have the equipment sort of set up, please elaborate what your game plan is……..
    According to you, you’ve done a lot of research, have you researched on how trucking is doing today with inflation, low paying rates, high fuel prices, and high insurance rates for new starter’s?

4. NH Guy

NH Guy Medium Load Member

Feb 26, 2023
    You are going to need a better business plan than just "buy a truck and hire a driver" do you have any idea of costs to expect?

Why does a 6+ year old truck only have 389k miles? Why, and how long has it been sitting?

How much of a reserve fund are you going to have on hand for expenses? Fuel, tires, maintenance, wreckers, repairs for when something breaks, etc

Who told you getting into trucking in this economy was a good idea? Lots of companies going under right now, what are you going to be able to do differently to avoid this?