New to car hauling. Looking for recommendations.

Discussion in 'Car Hauler and Auto Carrier Trucking Forum' started by Sadig, Mar 9, 2023.

1. Sadig

Sadig Bobtail Member

Mar 9, 2023
    As title says, I am new to car hauling, but not to trucking. Want to switch to car hauling. What is better for 7-8 car trailers? Wally-mo or Cottrell. about truck I have volvo vnl860

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Mnmover99

Mnmover99 Light Load Member

Oct 22, 2022
    Wally MO will not last, rust out quickly. Cottrell is probably better, but what part of the market are you going to? Auctions, or new vehicles? The trailer can be made for the vehicles you will be transporting. DOT requires 1 million liability as the vehicles are classified as Haz Mat, because of gas and batteries, but you will not need haz mat authority. You need to get your 5th wheel slide moved back almost to the end of the frame rails. Also, self contained system or are you going to have a wet kit on your tractor. A common load board is Central Dispatch. Find a lane you like and work it. Be careful many trailers have had fires because the packed wheel bearing run out of grease. Oil bath wheel bearings sometimes leak, but last longer. A trailer that has air bag drops and risers may help getting over curbs etc.Older trailers rust from the inside out, so trailers over 5 years old can be a poor investment. Securing with wheel straps is for new vehicles, but rollers with chains with a RTJ hooks work also. Extra hose ends and fittings and hose are always useful. Get an account with Pirtek for hose repairs.

Last edited: Mar 9, 2023
    lual, Shanebklyn, Sadig and 1 other person Thank this.
  4. Sadig

Sadig Bobtail Member

Mar 9, 2023
    Thanks for detailed answer brother!