O/O gross-net Jan-Feb 2023

Discussion in 'Ask An Owner Operator' started by kros, Feb 4, 2023.

1. kros

kros Light Load Member

Feb 4, 2023
    Indiana
    Hello professionals!

I worked as a company driver for 4 years on a reefer and flatbed. Good time, good job, but I hope I can get more as an O/O.
    Now I'm working on getting my used truck (400k miles freddy on which I'm working now) all for cash $55k.
    I'm not sure what kind of trailer I want to haul yet, so I'll be renting a new trailer in the early years to see what works best for the owner operator.
    I live in the midwest and usually work on a 5-6 week schedule with no days off (sure, with restarts) and then a week at home ( I'm a loner and just work as long as I can now).

I want to ask you, my colleagues,
    1. what gross/net are you getting now?
    2. How many miles do you drive per week or month?
    3. And how many days do you work?
    4. what kind of trailer do you haul?
    5. Do you book loads from the board or contract?

I will be glad if you add something else and we can figure out whether it makes sense to buy your own truck now or it is better to work as a driver company!
    Thank you!

Last edited: Feb 4, 2023
    blairandgretchen Thanks this.
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. GYPSY65

GYPSY65 Road Train Member

Nov 16, 2012
    SW FLA
    Way more of this will depend on you rather than any trailer you pull

You will find two guys at ANY company such as Landstar, Bennett, Mercer etc doing the exact same thing
    One will be going broke while the other is ordering a new truck

I’ve personally talked to guys at the same places I’ve been at over the years saying they won’t do this…. Or go there…. Or F that agent etc
    Do you think he’s staying busy? Getting calls in the higher dollar freight etc?

Why would any agent work with such a person?