OTR Last Hoorah! At least for now…

Discussion in 'Discuss Your Favorite Trucking Company Here' started by visionarygvp, Feb 4, 2023.

1. visionarygvp

visionarygvp Light Load Member

Mar 21, 2018
    Atlanta, GA
    Brief backstory, I’ve been driving since 2015 got my CDL in 2019, so technically 4 years CDL as of now. I’ve been in school (college) and will be done end of this year. My plan is to step away from the trucking industry by February 2024.

After my spring semester I’d like to spend the next year enjoying the road, and taking in as much scenery as possible. It’s definitely something I’ve missed being local.

What I’m looking for:

1. Preferably no megas, but smaller outfit.

2. Preferably no driver facing cameras, or camera period. Might not be able to get both, but at least no to the driver facing camera.

3. Companies that take my 4 years TT experience into consideration, as opposed to starting me out with let’s say flatbed, with no flatbed experience with the same pay as someone out of trucking school.

4. Sounds corny, but I’ve never driven one of those old school KW’s, Pete’s, or a Freightliner Coronado. It’s been a dream of mine to at least drive one OTR once in my life.

5. I can drive manual 8spd, 10spd, 13spd. Never tried 18spd but have always wanted to.

I have a mix of 2 years reefer and dry van experience, and a mix of 2 years tanker (chemical and fuel), currently hauling fuel locally.

Any suggestions? I’m based in the Atlanta, GA area but again plan to run wild for a year OTR so I don’t care where the company is based out of.. as long as they don’t mind me being based out of Georgia.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Grouch

Grouch Road Train Member

Feb 3, 2009
    Between here and eternity