School advice

Discussion in 'Trucking Schools and CDL Training Forum' started by midget28, Feb 8, 2007.

1. midget28

midget28 Light Load Member

Jan 10, 2007
    What Cheer Iowa
    Im starting the course to get my cdl in a few weeks and would like to hear any advice at all. Im a terrible student and could use any advice to keep from getting behind or worse kicked out. Dont misunderstand im intelligent i just have a hard time dealing with teachers and understanding what it is they ask for now granted i talked to one of the instructors and he sounds like a pretty down to earth guy ill be fine with its the driving guys i havent talked to yet soo any advice on double clutching ,backing, inspection would be appreciated. If its on here already i probably have already it and im working on reading through the handbook for a cdl tryin to memorize all of the important stuff.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. panhandlepat

panhandlepat Road Train Member

Jan 12, 2007
    ask logs to E-mail you the power point that she has on logging. it helps visualize it to me. plus it's not for some reason?? in the CDL manual.

4. sevenmph

sevenmph Road Train Member

Jan 26, 2007
    Pinellas county Florida
    This may sound strange, but do you learn by sight, or by sound. You may not know. But think about it. I know this by personal expierence.
    I used to think that I was a terrible student. Because I took all the notes and studied everything I read over and over. But still i didn't get it. Finally, ONE teacher asked me about sight and sound learning.
    Long story short, I figured out I learned by sound. Listening to and watching the instructor. In 2001, I passed the Florida Real Estate license test first attempt. Did not take one note in class. Listened and reviewed the book.