Snow may vanish for years at a time in Mountain West with climate warming

Discussion in 'Truckers News' started by chrisdab, Dec 4, 2021.

1. chrisdab

chrisdab Bobtail Member

Oct 28, 2021
    Link to article.

Lots of dire talk about water reservoirs, would be a good thing for trucking though.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Six9GS

Six9GS Road Train Member

Dec 3, 2012
    Yuma, AZ
    Prior to being a driver, I was a cartographer for the U.S. Bureau of Reclamation. I've been watching water resources dwindle in the Western U.S. for 20 years. It's gonna get bad in my opinion. It definitely doesn't take a rocket scientist to see what's coming. Problem is, too few are paying any attention.

4. Pamela1990

Pamela1990 Road Train Member

Nov 7, 2021
    B.C. Canada
    Our winters seem to be getting colder the past decade, and some massive snow falls.
    I'm not worried about any lack of snow in the mountains.
    Went riding again in the Torpy area last winter, just as I have every winter for 15 years.
    The snow gauge up there measures snow pack, but only to 30' deep. The snow gauge we stop and look at every trip was getting buried more and more every trip we made, until it just wasn't visible any longer. I dug down to it on our last trip up, it was about a 9' deep hole to get to the top.
    We seem to have more and more flooding yearly.
    Great friends of ours bought a lake cabin about 30 years ago, and the lake is getting deeper the last decade, not shallower.
    So while a few areas maybe getting dryer, other are getting wetter.

Last edited: Dec 5, 2021
    Dino soar, Oxbow, bzinger and 4 others Thank this.
  5. Lunatic Fringe

Lunatic Fringe Medium Load Member

Oct 1, 2016
    [​IMG]

Last edited: Dec 5, 2021
    Trucker61016 Thanks this.
  6. RoadSideDown

RoadSideDown Light Load Member

Feb 26, 2021