SWIFT Orientation and Mentor A Diary

Discussion in 'Road Stories' started by Mr. Green Jeans, Apr 30, 2007.

1. Mr. Green Jeans

Mr. Green Jeans Light Load Member

Mar 5, 2007
    Well for those of you that are new to my story I graduated from SWIFT training last thursday and start orientation tomorrow.

Training was fine, fast paced and long days but they held up to their bargain I learned to dirve a tractor trailer well enough to pass my CDL A license exam.

After 2 days of orientation I head out on the road with a mentor for 6 weeks of OTR training. I have read all the horror stories about trainers but as long as he is decent and teaches me what I need to know, well then again SWIFT will hold up their end of the bargain.

Only hassle so far is having a roomate for oreintation that I dont know and trying to fit enough stuff to live on into one duffle bag. Oh well I have done worse things for 6 weeks.

Ill try to keep all of you updated as possible and if I get put off the truck somewhere in BFE could someone give me lift to the nearest Truck Stop?

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Mr. Green Jeans

Mar 5, 2007
    Orientation Day 1

7 am to Noon, sat around and waited for others to have physical and drug screen, 28 of them

Noon -- lunch free pretty good

1 pm videos on the company, benefits etc.

3 pm O/O sales pitch

4 pm started road tests for those needing to do one
    filled out Tax forms, etc

5 pm back to the hotel

all in all, boring, disorganized and useless

Will have to wait until tomorrow and see if it gets better

4. groovemachine

groovemachine Light Load Member

Mar 8, 2007
    Shawnee, Kansas

:headbang:

Right on, we got your back. Best of luck, hope you get a good trainer!

5. Mr. Green Jeans

Mar 5, 2007
    Day 2

More videos, more paper work, more road testing.

got our comdata card and local bank sales pitches.