The new Walmart fleet vs. the old.

Discussion in 'Wal-Mart' started by 345_Magnum, Feb 12, 2018.

1. 345_Magnum

345_Magnum Light Load Member

Feb 11, 2018
    Area 51
    Greetings folks,

When I came on board the private fleet almost 27 years ago, it was an exciting change of pace for me. I was an owner operator for 17 years and didn't really know what to expect as a company man. The interview process was like being vetted for a job with the C.I.A. and after I was hired, many friends of mine could not believe Walmart took me in. Not because I wasn't qualified, but because I was known as a "not liking to be told what to do" kind of guy. I was at that stage when it was time to start building towards future retirement and that profit sharing plan really was fitting the bill for me.

On day one of orientation it was made clear to all of us that we were now part of the Walmart family. A family with a boatload of rules, but a family none the less. Management made every effort to make us all feel good about being here with one goal in mind, supporting our # 1 customer, the stores! Back then we were all told that the fleet operates in the red and Mr. Sam didn't care because if we took care of our stores, the stores would take care of the fleet. Mr. Sam's philosophy apparently was working because it made him insanely rich. This philosophy was hard to comprehend because we were hauling many store loads over 500 miles one way and told to deadhead on home as we had very few or no back-hauls available. As we all know, the philosophy today is very different.