The Old Man's Advice

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by LtlAnonymous, Jul 31, 2020.

1. LtlAnonymous

LtlAnonymous Road Train Member

Dec 23, 2016
    So I see some folks struggling on here with how to navigate a trucking career. In particular, a recent post from @DARKNIGHTRUCKER reminded me that there are rookies on here, and we veterans need to pass our knowledge and experience on to the next generation.

When I was a young rookie, I met a guy at a truck stop who completely changed everything for me. You can read the story here: A misunderstanding that still haunts me.

He asked me to pass on what he told me when I found my way, and though I often try to do that in person, this site is also a great way to reach a bunch of people with his thoughts.

So another big thank you to the old man, let's honor him with another post... and if you find this advice to be as good as I did, I will tell you exactly what he told me: pass it on. We don't have apprenticeships in this industry, only training from companies who will lie straight to your face. A little wisdom outside the lines goes a long way.

1. Get experience. Now this one seems obvious, but you need to have a goal in mind while you're getting that experience. Learn how to drive the truck, get smooth with everything, and make the truck an extension of yourself. Once everything is second nature, you're ready to make a move.

2. Specialize. This is what you should have been paying attention to during the first step. Tanker, flatbed, LTL, hazmat, livestock, reefer, construction, garbage, owner op, etc.

These first two steps are separate because a lot of people start off in dry van OTR. I did as well, so they were separate for me. If you start off hauling flatbed as a rookie, obviously you can combine these first two steps. You started off in a specialized area.