What made you finally get your own truck?

Discussion in 'Ask An Owner Operator' started by EZX1100, Mar 3, 2014.

1. EZX1100

EZX1100 Road Train Member

Aug 18, 2012
    I ask this question after looking thru all of the "report a bad company" threads and gripes from many of the company drivers about the companies they drive for and their policies.

It was the megas and their policies that clearly showed me that the only way i could survive (without choking some desk jockey) was to get my own truck

also, i used to lease from some of the megas and found out some of the rates the loads were paying and figured why should i let someone else get the gravy of my work.

lastly, i hate being told what to do, so when i was a company driver, the "you are driving too fast, you are idling too much, you havent sent your daily qualcomm message" reminders drove me crazy (i forgot many of the other daily required messages)

tinytim and blairandgretchen Thank this.
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. TOMBSTONE1954

TOMBSTONE1954 Bobtail Member

Mar 2, 2014
  4. kw550cat

kw550cat Medium Load Member

May 22, 2012
    brooklyn, new york
    I don't work well with others. That and I ran hard starting out and figured I should get my own out of the gate. I come from a driving family so I knew that having my own truck would be best. That's why I never drove as a company guy.

5. TripleSix

TripleSix God of Roads

Apr 10, 2009
    Copied in Hell