Winter driving and chaining

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by nw88, Aug 8, 2016.

1. nw88

nw88 Bobtail Member

Jul 30, 2012
    ID
    Yes I know its August but winter will soon be upon us. I'm new to this career and just looking for any winter tips or advice. I graduated CDL school recently and the instructors there said if you have to chain up, its not safe to drive. Sounds good but maybe not practical. How exactly do you know when to chain up? Yes if a blizzard is on then obviously, but what about the grey areas. And if your on a straight, flat piece of highway but its snowing with ice on the road what speed are you comfortable at?

Thanks for any info. And if I am skewered for being a know nothing newbie that's okay too.

scottied67 Thanks this.
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Wooly Rhino

Wooly Rhino Road Train Member

Jul 6, 2008
    Liberty, Missouri
    Being that your from Idaho, you most probably already know when to drive and when not to. Trucks do not handle well in snow and not at all in ice. You have to carry chains in some areas but you are not required to use them. Since you are most likely being paid by the mile, park your truck until you can run faster. If you have to chain ask for a bonus to do so. I believe the maximum speed recommended is 30 miles per hour. So you are only being paid $12.00 at 40 cpm. It ain't worth it.

nw88 Thanks this.
  4. lilillill

lilillill Sarcasm... it's not just for breakfast

Nov 7, 2007
    Possum Booger, Alabama
    RedRover and nw88 Thank this.
  5. RoadRooster

RoadRooster Road Train Member

May 10, 2015
    Fort Myers, Florida
    Basically, if you have to chain up, you pushed it too far. No load is worth it. I can drive in bad conditions, but why would I? Why would you...keep that in mind and you will be fine.

thejackal and nw88 Thank this.
  6. TripleSix

TripleSix God of Roads

Apr 10, 2009