Wish I knew this before I did Linehaul, governed at 62 mph.

Discussion in 'LTL and Local Delivery Trucking Forum' started by jameswood, Dec 22, 2022.

1. jameswood

jameswood Bobtail Member

Dec 22, 2022
    Wish I knew to look for a company that have fast trucks. I’ve been with this company for 6 months, and all their trucks are governed at 62 mph.

I’m also looking for a new job, wondering if anyone has any tips/advice, greatly appreciate it, thank you.

I’m not asking much, but I have 10 years experience, hazmat and tanker, located in Midwest, day shift highly desired, I’m struggling staying awake doing night time line haul.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Lazer

Lazer Road Train Member

Jan 22, 2017
    I did nighttime linehaul for nearly 14 years, the key is to get a ‘good days sleep’. That is the biggest challenge. If you are committed to stay in the LTL gig, try to transfer to P&D shift at your company.

4. 201

201 Road Train Member

Apr 16, 2014
    high plains colorado
    You have the wrong attitude for a linehaul. Linehaul is one step up from a factory job. You do the same thing, over and over, hours are pretty cut and dry, and equipment is usually top notch. Many find that rewarding, like a factory job, they have a life outside of the truck. 62 is fine, in fact, what's the rush, slow it down, you're being paid by the hour. Special perks go along with that job, you aren't some random O/O they will never see again, you are part of the "team", and today, a good place to be. P&D( pickup and delivery) is okay, but many P&D drivers grab the linehaul as soon as it opens. P&D takes a special attitude as well, I liked them both. If you want a fast truck, be some beer hauler, or flatbed, they have fast trucks, they have to, they have a long ways to go and uncertainy once they get there, but linehaul? No hurry,,,it's a better life, trust me.